Leeds to Tadcaster

The bit of mapwork here set me thinking … an alternative route between Leeds and York (rather than more obvious options, like below)?

My daughter had several friends visiting her in hospital one fine afternoon last week. Rather than congest her bedside, I took the chance of fairly fresh memories of this map to explore the twenty or so square kilometres between Aberford and Tadcaster. No roads – just Chantry Lane as “the spine”, farm lanes, and bridleways.

Google Maps; Leeds-TadcasterThe day’s route, mapped as a circular.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cross Gates – Aberford

Barwick Churches and Maypole

 

The only difficulty on the road route between Cross Gates Station and Aberford is … Barwick-in-Elmet. It is so easy to stop in the village square – with fine pubs and churches, and a May Pole, get diverted and delayed, and then head for home.

Two churches? Of course – miners, like the fisher folk of my native north-east Scotland, had good reason to be God-fearing; and perhaps wonder if the land-owner’s God really had their interests at heart?

 

 

 

 

 

But wander a little, and there’s Wendel Hill, with its Iron Age hill-fort, Norman motte and bailey, and WWII obervation post. Plenty of history to find out about then – Barwick was even a nation’s capital once, for one of the independent kingdoms that emerged at the end of the Roman period.

Wendel Hill

On to Aberford – while the Cock Beck winds round a big bend, the road goes straight – down to the river and up over the ridge, down and up again; so there are a couple of short steep-ish hills to climb.

 

Aberford to Tadcaster

The A64/A1(M) junction is the most useless piece of cycling infrastructure I know. Perhaps it deserves a wee post of its own one day, if I can muster the courage to revisit a horrid couple of miles, “playing chicken” with motorway-speed drivers.

Instead – I headed north from Aberford along the old A1 – or, as the milestones have it, “Ferrybridge to Boroughbridge Road”. Takes you back to days when roads had some adventure and romance, and lorry-drivers had tales to tell of the Great North Road .

Not long before the A64/A1(M) roundabout, a side road heads to the right underneath the motorway; I took that, turned right again through Black Horse Farm, and followed the lane to the left for a couple of hundred yards, as far as a “junction”.

There was an inconspicuous sign for a foot-path winding through the woods. Such peaceful riding so close to two very busy major routes. “Cycling on a footpath? Tut, tut!” I hear you say? I shouldn’t have – however, it was a couple of local people who directed me along it.

I came out on the access road for Hazelwood Castle (now a hotel), turned left to make my way round to the back entrance, and joined Chantry Lane. There is a short cut, turning right and going through the hotel residents’ car park … but I had visions of a riled second under-gardener coming after me with a pitch fork. Discretion won!

Chantry Lane - big skies
Chantry Lane – riding entirely alone and unperturbed, under a “big sky”, through wide open fields, with long, long views. Fine riding indeed. The only surprises – I put up several partridge and quail in a wheat field just harvested.

The surface is pretty broken and rough in parts. Although usable in all weathers, it is really only viable on a hybrid or an MTB – just be prepared to take it slowly. The bridleway through to Lead is signposted, which is a fine option (although again, not one to try on a throughbred road bike).

 

 

 

 

Once past the old school house, I joined the bridleway from Towton’s Old London Road, and arrived at a cross roads. Straight ahead would have taken me straight into Tadcaster (the better option). Left takes you on a virtually traffic free road, past a quarry, through to the Tadcaster-Bramham road. But I went right into Stutton – and on to the A192; the village may well have something to recommend it, but I didn’t see it.

And once again – I shamed myself. In Tadcaster, I did no more than find a quick bite and a drink, before having to head back to Leeds for the evening hospital visit. Exploring the town will just have to wait – an excuse for another trip.

Other options between Leeds and Tadcaster, and on to York (Mileage measured between Seacroft Tescos and York Station)

  • Option 1 – 19 miles; the A64. Don’t. Ever. The section between Leeds and Tadcaster is insanely unfriendly to cyclists.
  • Option 2 – about 22 miles, and the one I have usually used.
    • Section 1. Seacroft Tesco – Coal Road – Skeltons Lane – Thorner – Bramham – Tadcaster; pleasant riding. Going east is easy – a combination of short sharp climbs and looooong descents; you are dropping down into the Wharfe valley. Heading west is tougher – two long leg-sapping climbs before you get to Seacroft, the watershed between the Aire and Wharfe valleys.
    • Section 2. For York, head through Tadcaster for the A64, and take the off-road cycle path all the way through to the A1086; this will take you direct into York city centre. It is safe, reasonably surfaced most of the way, fairly fast, no real hills, and practical. But so uninspiring; not enjoyable.

2 thoughts on “Leeds to Tadcaster

  1. Really interesting post.I’m based in York and work in Leeds, and have been trying to figure out a good route from York to Leeds. The weather is one thing, with prevailing westerlies/headwinds when heading from York, but the hills are definitely a killer too, kicking in for cyclists coming from York at the end of the trip when energies are likely to be lowest.

    I’m particularly interested to hear your assessment that cycling eastwards “is easy” but “heading west is tougher”, because the only cyclist I know who does this trip regularly comes from Leeds (taking the train on the way back) and I couldn’t understand how he was getting the kinds of times he says he does, even allowing for extra fitness and prevailing westerly winds. Now I get it!

    I’m also interested to hear of your endorsement of the cycle path along the A64 between York and Tadcaster. Initially I was sceptical of the path, which in places goes right next to the road, and have heard mixed reports of it from cyclists, but your positive view of it is encouraging. Besides, my experience of cycling on other roads between York and Leeds without cycle paths has been terrifying. So now I’m more inclined to try it, though of course it doesn’t do anything about the hills around Bramham! On which note I’m grateful for your warning off of cycling on the A64 between Leeds and Tadcaster – I was wondering how bad it might be; now I wonder no more!

    For my part, I tried going to Leeds via Wetherby last time on the advice of said regular cycle-commuter from Leeds. I found the bit from York to Wetherby, via Askham Bryan, Wighill etc, very pleasant, particularly since there’s an off-road path (maybe a Sustrans one) for the last few miles before Wetherby. But Wetherby to Leeds was a nightmare. First, the A58 has fast-moving traffic (the speed limit is 50 mph but I’m not sure everyone was sticking to the limits…), and little space to overtake, indeed double white lines down the centre forbid it. Cue repeated, very close overtakes from cars. That was bad enough, but what made it even worse was that the bit of the A58 near Wetherby has several climbs, so I didn’t have huge amounts of momentum as the cars impatiently sped past. It got still worse when I eventually turned off through Bardsley. The first bit was okay, but the road to and through Wike was truly terrifying: a narrow, windy and above all hilly road that drivers sped (literally) through. I had a couple of near misses with oncoming cars that suddenly crested hills without any warning or sense of caution. Eventually I gave up and pushed my bike along the road while I walked along the grass verge, occasionally stopping whilst traffic passed. I finally entered Leeds along the path from Alwoodley, which was slow but blissful by comparison.

    The only other route I’ve tried is a more southerly one via Cawood, Ulleskelf, Towton, Aberford, Barwick and into Leeds on the cycle superhighway on the A64. That was mostly okay, other than some scary encounters with speeding traffic on the A164 heading south from Tadcaster.

    Anyway, I hope you’re still cycling around Leeds and beyond. It’d be good to swap tips!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aye – still cycling around Leeds! But I’ve moved to S Leeds – and it’s … “not quite the same cycling country”. Sadly.

      Nothing, but nothing, will ever persuade me to ride the A58 again – once was once too many. I note you went through Bardsey and Wike – heavy, fast commuter country, as you found. Fine riding at other times of the day – but not when Mr late-for-work-Audi-driver has slept in.

      This is a bit longer – but FAR more pleasant.

      Out of Wetherby on the other side of the river from the A58 – ride through Linton. Dog’s leg back through Collingham, cross the A58, and head for Jewitt Lane. From memory, the climbing at the start is brutal, but once at the top, it’s easy, pleasant cycling along the watershed (with brilliant views 🙂 ), through East Rigton, on to Milner Lane, through Thorner. It’s a long climb out of there, towards the A64; take a right into Skeltons Lane … then whatever works for you getting to Leeds?

      Just a thought 😉

      Like

Leave a comment