Exploring Kippax

A brilliant year for hedgerow berries
Townclose Hills (Billy Wood) lie between The Lines Way and Kippax, about 1.5 miles from Garforth, and 2 miles from Allerton Bywater. They are now a nature reserve of national importance for conservation. Keep an eye out for the information board by the trackside.

As soon as you enter, you are on a bridleway. Turning right stays lower and leads round to Kippax Leisure Centre – interesting I’m sure, but not my choice; there are also several footpaths which cross the reserve. My route of choice is to head left and up hill, which takes me round to Westfield Lane.

It is quite startling to see the hawthorn hedge stretch away into the distance – glowing with haws; it is an exceptionally good year for hedgerow berries!

 

 

 

 

I then follow Westfield Lane to the end, almost to the summit of Kippax. One last “dogleg”, left and right, and I am on the site of Kippax castle. Nothing left but some earthworks, a fine spot for sandwiches , with remarkable views over the Aire valley and beyond.

First time I came this way, I got chatting, as you do, to an “older resident”. Bless the old boy – he took it on himself to show me what I had been missing, all those years I had simply driven through Kippax. It is worth a wee explore.

Herringbone masonry, Church of St Mary, KippaxMuch of the present parish church, St Mary’s, dates back to Norman times. The herring-bone masonry which catches my eye may date back to the 1100s. A pity that it has to be locked up to deter theivery, as I suspect there’s a few stories to read inside.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Parish Church of St Mary, Kippax

My friend was keen for me to see the pair of kestrels that nest in the church tower most years. With luck (at the right time of year), you see them flitting in and out from above the clock to feed their brood.

He also took me through the church yard, and across the main street to the car park; you’ll see the sign to your right before you cross. Down the ginnel by the housing office, and there’s a viewpoint. On a clear day, you can see well into the Pennines, Emley Moor, and the Peak District; Leeds, Wakefield, Huddersfield. The interpretation board has just enough information to tempt me to explore that corner between the Lines Way and Ledston Luck – another day.

 

From there, it is down hill all the way, past the Leisure Centre and the allotments. Take a left through the site of Kippax Station, and rejoin The Lines Way. Or carry on up the hill to the mini roundabout, take a left, and head for St Aidan’s Country Park

Leave a comment